On Being Proud….

My friend Carol told me yesterday that she’s been coming to terms with the idea that it’s okay to be proud of yourself.

This is surprisingly hard for some of us runners, particularly female runners.  When we talk about our accomplishments in a way that expresses pride it can bring up a multitude of feelings.  It can make us feel like we are bragging.  Also, we all have different strengths, and don’t want things to sound comparative.

There’s also a stigma that runners are selfish with their time.  Women tend to get hit particularly hard with this, and as a mom, it’s something that I’ve had brought to my attention a lot.  There’s nothing wrong with taking care of yourself, and in this social media age where eceryone posts so much of their private lives, it can be a reason why I don’t post some of the things that I’m proud of with my running.  I don’t want to be judged by the time of day I was able to get out, or by the amount of miles that I put in, (Back to above, I also don’t want to be a braggart).

However, I am proud of y running.  I like it, or I wouldn’t put in the time.  It makes me a better happier person.  One of the things that I enjoy most is hearing my friends tell me about new accomplishments, hearing their excitement, and their pride.

My racing may have been off this year so far, but my training hasn’t.  I’m proud of my training.  I’ve run so many Oggs* this year.  I’ve put in more miles at this point in the year than I ever have and more strength work.  I’ve noticeably gotten stronger and it’s making my long runs easier.  Because I can see these things and feel good about them, I can also see the room for growth ahead.  I see progress.

I’ve gained a lot of confidence in myself as a runner, and I worry a lot less about what other people think of things like my pace when we’re running together.  That’s something that used to terrify me.  I hated long runs with other people because I was worried that I wouldn’t go fast enough, and that they’d be too polite to tell me. (Trail runners are amazing, that’s not really how that works by the way; it’s my personal anxiety.) So I am proud to say that there are two things to know about me if you want to run with me:

  1.  I do not walk when I run, I do however practice my power hiking.
  2. I am not slow, just appropriately paced for the situation.

I think that many of us could stand to implement these two things into our running, and end our runs with a little bit of pride that we want to share.

 

*Ogg- the road that many of us do hill repeats on, half a mile down, each repeat is a mile with close to 200ft of gain

rock on lake perry
photo credit: Mile 90 Photography
Leave a Reply

